License To Carry (LTC) Class

This class provides the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) required classroom training and firearm qualification students need in order to obtain a Texas License to Carry a Handgun (LTC).  Upon completion of this course students will receive a Form LTC-100 Certification of Training signed by a Certified DPS LTC Instructor.

For more information on LTC eligibility and to complete the online LTC application go to the Texas Department of Safety website and select “Handgun Licensing” at https://www.dps.texas.gov/.

NOTE:  This LTC class is not intended to train students how to shoot a handgun.  The qualification test portion of the course is required by the State of Texas for the student to demonstrate their ability to safely and properly handle and shoot a handgun.  If shooting proficiency training is required, please see our Private One-On-One Training.

This Course:

  • Taught by a Texas DPS Certified LTC Instructor
  • Requires 4 to 6 hours classroom instructions (time based on size of group & includes range time)
  • Requires administered DPS written exam (minimum score of 70 to pass – 25 questions)
  • Requires administered DPS shooting proficiency qualification (minimum score of 70% – 50 shots or 175 points out of possible 250 points to pass) Shooting range time is based on size of group

Tuition:

  • Private One-On-One – $150.00 ($100 Prepayment Required to Reserve LTC Class Seat ) Balance paid prior to commencement of training
  • Private Groups (2 to 3) – $95.00 per student ($75 Prepayment Required to Reserve LTC Class Seat) Balance paid prior to commencement of training
  • Public Groups (4 to 10) – $75.00 per student (Full Prepayment Required to Reserve LTC Class Seat)

Tuition Includes:

  • 4 to 6 hours classroom instructions (time based on size of group & includes range time))
  • State of Texas Required Written Examination
  • State of Texas Required B-27 Target (45″ high x 24″ wide)
  • Shooting Range Fee ($18 value)

Tuition Does Not Include:

  • Handgun (.22 caliber and larger authorized)
  • Handgun Rental Available Upon Request (additional $15 for Handgun & Ammo)
  • Ammunition (50 rounds minimum to qualify) – No Reloads Authorized for Safety & Reliability

What to Bring:

  • Texas Driver’s License or Texas State ID
  • Notebook, Pen or Pencil
  • Handgun & (2) Magazines (.22 caliber or larger authorized)
  • Ammunition (100 rounds minimum) No Reloads Authorized for Safety & Reliability
  • White Hand Towel (to place firearm while loading magazines)
  • Hearing Protection
  • Eye Protection (reading glasses or prescription glasses are authorized)
  • Baseball Cap (to keep hot expended cartridges from landing between you and your eye protection)
  • Comfortable Non-Slip Footwear (no open toe or heel shoe)
  • Button-Up Shirt (long or short sleeve) No Open Neck T-Shirts or Tank Tops Allowed
  • Bag Lunch, Snacks & Water (no nearby food stores or restaurants)
  • Jacket or Sweater (classroom temperature may vary or may have light drizzle)

Range Qualification Test Requirements:
Score 70% on State of Texas Written Examination
Score of 175 out of 250 possible points (70 %) on Shooting Range Qualification

3 Yard Line – 20 Rounds

  • 1 round in 2 seconds, 5 times (5 rounds total)
  • 2 rounds in 3 seconds, 5 times (10 rounds total)
  • 5 rounds in 10 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)

7 Yard Line – 20 Rounds

  • 5 rounds in 10 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)
  • 2 rounds in 4 seconds, 1 time (2 rounds total)
  • 3 rounds in 6 seconds, 1 time (3 rounds total)
  • 1 round in 3 seconds, 5 times (5 rounds total)
  • 5 rounds in 15 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)

15 Yard Line – 10 Rounds

  • 2 rounds in 6 seconds, 1 time (2 rounds total)
  • 3 rounds in 9 seconds, 1 time (3 rounds total)
  • 5 rounds in 15 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)

Texas License To Carry

This course does not teach basic firearm skills or train students how to shoot. It is required that all participants have a basic understanding of handgun fundamentals and marksmanship. There is no time to teach handgun skills in an LTC class due to The State of Texas required material that must be covered. Anyone unsure of their basic handgun skills should consider taken our ONE-ON-ONE TRAINING or other range shooting class prior to the License To Carry Class. It is the sole responsibility of each individual to determine if they are legally ELIGIBLE to receive a Texas Concealed Handgun License. No refunds shall be issued after an individual has completed our LTC training courses and is determined to not be legally eligible to receive a Texas Handgun license to carry from the State of Texas. For more information on eligibility go to the Texas Department of Safety website and select “Handgun Licensing” at https://www.dps.texas.gov/.

LTC Target Grading is as follows:

  • Shots within the 8 ring (red) are 5 points.
  • Shots within the 7 ring (blue) and outside the 8 ring (red) are 4 points.
  • Shots outside the 7 ring and still on the silhouette are 3 points.
  • Shots in the white area are 0 points.

The target used is a B-27 target, which is a human-shaped silhouette target that measures 45″ high and 24″ wide. All shooting is from the “ready position” where your firearm is already in a position to fire. If any malfunctions are encountered, the shooter will work through the problem and finish the course of fire. If rounds are held (not fired within the allotted time), the shots will be scored as misses. A total of 50 shots are fired during the range qualification test. A score of 70% or greater is required to pass, or 175 points out of a possible 250 points.

shooting-target

STUDENTS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO BRING WEAPON or AMMUNITION into the CLASSROOM.

If interested, click on Request Form and complete.

Shoot Straight Firearms Training

Shoot Straight Firearms Training